Mayo County Council

Mayo County Council is responsible for providing a number of services to the county, including protecting the environment, fire protection, agricultural services, planning, road maintenance, enhancing the cultural and artistic life of the community, tax collection and licensing and maintaining refuse infrastructure.

County Mayo is served by 31 County Councillors elected from six electoral areas within the county. These Councillors oversee the Mayo County government which carries out the policies of both the state and local governments.
Although based in Castlebar, the County Council services the entire county through a series of Area Offices located in nine towns across the county.

For citizens of the county residing in towns serviced by Town Councils (formerly known as Urban District Councils or UDCs; namely Ballina, Castlebar and Westport), some of these services are provided by the Town Councils independently of or in cooperation with the Mayo County Council.

The functions of Mayo Local Authorities are classified under eight programme groups:

  • Housing & Building
  • Road Transportation & Safety
  • Water Supply & Sewerage
  • Development Incentives & Control
  • Environmental Protection
  • Recreation & Amenity
  • Agriculture, Education, Health & Welfare
  • Miscellaneous Services